(Persia Digest) - Sassanid Archaeological Landscape of Fars region was inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List as the 23rd Iranian site at the forty-second session of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee.

Deputy of the Cultural Heritage Organization of Iran nominated two sites of “Sassanid Landscape” and “Arasbaran” for the UNESCO World Heritage List this year.

Arasbaran (Qaradagh) is a vast mountainous area in the north of East Azerbaijan Province. In 1976, UNESCO registered 72,460 hectares of land in the area as a biosphere reserve. The case is being reviewed and has not yet been accepted and UNESCO has called for some reforms.

Read more:

► Cyrus Cylinder – Memory of the World

► Unesco visits Kermanshah ruins

► 52 Sites in Iran awaiting Unesco registration

"Sassanid Landscape" is a site which belongs to Sassanid era in three cities of Fars province, which includes Qal'eh Dokhtar and the fire temple and embossed patterns of Firuzabad, the ancient city of Bishapur in Kazeroun in Tang Chogan region and Sassanid palace of “Sarvestan”.

As per Persia Digest’s report, so far, 21 historical sites and a natural one in Iran have been inscribed on the UNESCO’s World Heritage List, and with the addition of the Sassanid Landscape, their total has reached 23.

The names and date of inscription of Iranian sites are as follows:

  1. Tchogha Zanbil (Khuzestan Province) 1979
  2. Persepolis (Fars Province) 1979
  3. Naqsh-e Jahan Square (Isfahan Province) 1979
  4. Takht-e Soleyman (West Azerbaijan Province) 2003
  5. Bam and its Cultural Landscape (Kerman Province) 2004
  6. Pasargadae (Fars Province) 2004
  7. Soltaniyeh (Zanjan Province) 2005
  8. Bisotun (Kermanshah Province) 2006
  9. Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran (West Azerbaijan Province) 2008
  10. Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System (Khuzestan Province) 2009
  11. Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex (East Azerbaijan Province) 2010
  12. Sheikh Safi al-din Khānegāh and Shrine Ensemble in Ardabil (Ardabil Province) 2010
  13. The Persian Garden (Many Provinces (Fars, Kerman, Razavi Khorasan, Yazd, Mazandaran, and Isfahan Provinces) 2011
  14. Masjed-e Jāmé of Isfahan (Isfahan Province) 2012
  15. Gonbad-e Qābus (Golestan Province) 2012
  16. Golestan Palace (Tehran) 2013
  17. Shahr-e Sukhteh (Sistan and Baluchestan Province) 2014
  18. Cultural Landscape of Maymand (Kerman Province) 2015
  19. Susa (Khuzestan Province) 2015
  20. The Persian Qanat (Razavi Khorasan, South Khorasan, Yazd, Kerman, Markazi and Isfahan Provinces) 2016
  21. Lut Desert (Kerman and Sistan and Baluchestan Provinces) 2016
  22. Historic City of Yazd (Yazd Province) 2017
  23. Sassanid Archaeological Landscape (Fars Province) 2018

Click here for more arts and cultural news.

* captcha:
* Comment: