(Persia Digest) – The President of the IR of Iran has formally announced his country’s membership in ASEAN in a letter to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The bill proposing that Iran join ASEAN had been referred to the Expediency Council following objections by the Guardian Council on the insistence of parliament to determine the final settlement. The Islamic Consultative Assembly approved the bill at the meeting of 7 July 2018.

Read more:

► 80% growth in Iran’s non-oil exports to ASEAN

► MoU signed between Iran and EAEU

Persia Digest reports that ASEAN was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand to promote political and economic cooperation and regional stability. After the Bali summit in 1976, it turned to more economic cooperation. It was joined later by Vietnam, Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, and Brunei. In addition to political and economic growth, ASEAN also emphasizes on social progress, the development of socio-cultural relations between member states, and identification of strategies for solving regional problems.

Click here for more political news.

* captcha:
* Comment:
Arts and culture
Latest news