(Persia Digest) – It was reported yesterday that Majid Takht-e Ravanchi, a member of the Iranian negotiating team for the 2015 JCPOA nuclear deal with the big powers, has been missioned to be Iran’s UN representative. He was promoted to Political Deputy at the President’s Office in November 2017. On the occasion of his posting at the UN, we will take a look at the faith of the other negotiators on the Iranian team.

Of these, Javad Zarif is still the Foreign Minister. Although he handed in his resignation on Monday 25 February 2019, President Rouhani did not accept it.

Seyed Abbas Araghchi was the Legal and International Deputy at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs during the negotiations. Following the restructuring of the Ministry, he was given the post of political deputy in January 2018.

Hamid Baeidinejad was the Political and International Deputy of the Foreign Ministry at the time. He was missioned as the first Iranian Ambassador in London since ties were severed.

Gholam-Hossein Mohammadnia was an advisor at the Foreign Ministry during the JCPOA negotiations. Subsequently, he was posted as the Iranian Ambassador to Albany. But following alleged claims of breach of diplomatic principles by Tirana, he returned to Tehran.

Mohammad Amiri, a senior official at Iran's Atomic Energy Organisation was retired in 2014 after 30 years of service according to Iranian laws.

Reza Najafi was Iran’s permanent representative at the International Atomic Energy Agency during the negotiations. He returned to Tehran at the end of his mission in 2018 and is currently Director General of International Peace and Security at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Eshagh Al-e-Habib became Iran’s Ambassador and Deputy UN representative in NY.

Esmaeil Baghaei-Hamaneh who took over from Hamid Baeidinejad as the leader of Iran’s team in the negotiations is currently Iran’s Ambassador at the UN in Geneva.

Behzad Saberi who was Araghchi’s assistant was given the post of advisor to the Foreign Ministry.

Seyed Hossein Sadat-Meidani became the Head of the JCPOA Follow-Up Secretariat at the Political Desk of the Foreign Ministry, succeeding Esmaeil Baghaei.

The Head of Iran's Atomic Energy Organisation (AEOI), Ali-Akbar Salehi, and Behrouz Kamalvand spokesperson for the AEOI have remained in their posts.

Pejman Rahimian was another member of the negotiating team who was posted as the CEO of the Nuclear Fuel Production and Procurement Company of Iran and AEOI Deputy.

Click here for more political news.

Follow us on Twitter

* captcha:
* Comment:
Arts and culture