The Argentine claimed a mistake from the Portuguese inside the Bravo area. The referee and the VAR system considered it not.
The controversy of Atletico Madrid against Atletico Madrid. Betis arrived in the first half: Was it William Carvalho’s penalty on Rodrigo de Paul? The Argentine claimed a mistake from the Portuguese inside the Bravo area. The referee and the VAR system considered it not.
About 13 minutes after the start of the first half, the score was up to zero, Atletico Madrid claimed a penalty kick. William Carvalho appeared to make contact with struts in front of Rodrigo de Paul as he was trying to connect the shot to the split ball inside the area. However, there was nothing for Alberola Rojas, the match official, nor the VAR. So, Atleti’s claim stayed that way.
In the Spanish capital, the match was stopped and minutes later the match could be resumed with Rodrigo de Paul already on the mend.
Alberola Rojas authorized the entry of medical services into the Argentine metropolitan area, at which time it was decided, through the use of video assistant technology, that the Portuguese was not a foul against the former Udinese.
Eduardo Itoraldi: “It’s a penalty”
Eduardo Itoraldi, a former Spanish referee who currently works as a collaborator at Carousel Deportivo, believes there has been a violation by the Portugal international of the Argentine midfielder. “It’s a dangerous game with friction: it’s a penalty,” he says. “Carvalho played the board and ended up calling Di Paul. It’s hard to see him on the field, but that’s the point of the VAR…” he added.
“Twitter advocate. Proud student. Devoted internet specialist. Pop culture aficionado.”