(Persia Digest) – Iran’s Spokesperson for the Ministry of the Interior has announced that President Rouhani’s decision to eliminate the entry and exit stamps from the passports of foreign citizens traveling to Iran is now being implemented.

Seyed Salman Samani pointed to the President’s recent decision on exempting foreigners from having their visas stamped, and said: “This applies to all authorized land, sea, and air borders of the country.”

Persia Digest reports that the decision was taken by Iran to counter US sanctions and expand tourism. US Congress ratified a bill in 2016 for 38 countries with US visa waivers to limit their travel to the US if they travel to Iran and a number of other countries.

Read more:

Passports of tourists entering Iran will not be stamped

► Which countries send more tourists to Iran?

► Traveling to the real Iran

 No need for embassies for a trip to Iran

The bill was signed by former US President, Barack Obama, and implemented for the citizens of all 38 countries, banning them from entering the US without a visa within five years of traveling to Syria, Iraq, Iran, Soudan, Libya, Somalia, and the Yemen. The visa waiver will be canceled and they have to apply for entry to the US.

Now that the decision has been implemented by the Iranian government, the citizens of these 38 countries can travel freely to Iran with no more concerns for traveling to the US.

Click here for more tourism news.

* captcha:
* Comment:
Arts and culture